PDA

View Full Version : Quad bikes

Dreich Day
04-Feb-14, 12:05
Hello, I am new to Caithness and have a question about children riding quad bikes. I understood that it was illegal for under 13 year olds to ride quad bikes, even on private land, and that over 13s have to have some kind of recognised training?

Big Gaz
04-Feb-14, 12:19
yup, you are correct.
Quote from quad bike law blurb

"Quad bikes are not legal on public roads unless equipped for road use. This includes fitting correct lighting, number plates, having a current roadworthiness certificate (MOT) & Road Fund Tax. Riders must be over 16 and insured (no mentio of licence strangely enough).
On private land, children under 13 are prohibited from driving or being a passenger on one.

Those aged 13 or over are allowed to ride quad bikes of an appropriate size and power, but only after they have been given formal training."

So who you grassing up :-)

RagnarRocks
04-Feb-14, 12:39
I used to ride a Honda CD 175 when I was 11 and by 13 I'd thrash about on a CCM 500 och the worlds changed

motopitcrew
04-Feb-14, 13:10
from the age of six you can hold a race licence and race in organised events to obtain a licence you must be a member of a recognised club such as caithness motox club

pig whisperer
04-Feb-14, 13:26
Many years ago my friend used to drive her dads Hillman Husky van round the fields with 3 of us in it some things change & some things stay the same tho quad bikes are a different kettle of fish, we didn't see any danger we were about 13 at the time

Big Gaz
04-Feb-14, 13:29
The part i don't understand is that a child under 13 cannot ride one on private land. Surely if the child is perfectly capable, supervised and it's on private land, why are the govt prohibiting it?

mi16
04-Feb-14, 13:51
Perhaps too many were hurting themselves

jax
04-Feb-14, 14:16