PDA

View Full Version : The Terri Schiavo Case.

Rheghead
23-Mar-05, 10:22
I am saddened to hear that Terri Schiavo's relatives are being torn apart by her suffering. I am also dismayed by Bush's attempt to intervene in the case.

But most of all I am saddened for Terri Shiavo. Should she die by having her feeding tube removed or should she have her life prolonged?

I have always been on the understanding that starvation/dehydration is one of the worst deaths you can go through. So is this right? Don't get me wrong, I am not a pro-life nutter but I would like to see a peaceful end to Terri's life whenever it comes be it next week or decades from now.

Personally, I am not a religious person so I do not have my concience with God to wrestle with but we would not allow a dog to suffer the same fate as Terri. But I value human life only marginally above the more cognitive of animals, so yes I would end Terri's suffering but in a more 'humane' way. If you were pro-capital punishment wouldn't you question your humane values if we ended a murderers life by denying him food and water as a means of execution?

katarina
23-Mar-05, 11:00
I agree with you. The woman should be allowed to die but not by denying food and water. Although there might be an arguement that her mental state is so degenerated that she might not be capable of even feeling discomfort. However - how do we know that for sure?

Julia
23-Mar-05, 11:06
I totally agree that she should be allowed to die without pain and suffering but with any dignity she has left!

brandy
23-Mar-05, 12:41
as with everyone else.. i agree they should let her die but please dont starve her to death.. isnt there a law to stop it.. isnt that torture of some kind? def inhumane!! must be something that can be done .. why cant they just put her to sleep? for crying out loud!

Drutt
23-Mar-05, 15:26