PDA

View Full Version : Independent Scotland and EU Immigration

RagnarRocks
11-Nov-13, 23:07
Just curious how people feel should Scotland become independent and stay within the EU. I'm not an expert on this but it would appear that the social benefits of living I'm Scotland will out strip those available to the United Kimgdom, .i.e ,free prescriptions, free education etc Given that the United Kingdom is currently feeling the effects of immigration from within the EU would Scotland then become the new place to go for a life and how would it affect the social dynamics of such a small country and the countries budget.

Gronnuck
12-Nov-13, 01:25
"Stay within the EU." It has already been made clear by thon Spanish heid-honcho chappie with the unpronouncable name that as a new country Scotland would have to apply for membership just like everyone else. Even if we did become members by that time we'll be as poor as Romania and Bulgaria so people wouldn't want to come here anyway.

Shabbychic
12-Nov-13, 15:10
I think you'll find the answers here (http://www.yesscotland.net/answers/what-about-immigration) and here (http://www.yesscotland.net/answers/what-about-european-union).

Gronnuck
12-Nov-13, 16:01
I think you'll find the answers here (http://www.yesscotland.net/answers/what-about-immigration) and here (http://www.yesscotland.net/answers/what-about-european-union).You're links only explain the aspirations of the Yes campaign, not the process, terms and conditions and the undoubted reaction of the EU to Scotland's application for membership.The propaganda you quote says Scotland will be able to take its place at Europe's top table. Is that the same one Latvia, Estonia and Cyprus sit at? Hardly esteemed company.

weezer 316
12-Nov-13, 17:38
We are dying for immigrants. In case you haven't noticed we desperately need immigration and need it now.

Alice in Blunderland
12-Nov-13, 18:06