PDA

View Full Version : Deaths on Scotland's Roads

peedie wifie
29-Jan-07, 10:47
How very sad to hear 14 people lost their lives on Scotland's roads this weekend. Surely its time we put pressure on the Government to look at ways of ending this tragic waste of life.

I think 17 is too young for someone to hold a driving license. My son reaches 17 next year and I'm already concerned about him having a full driving license and the responsibility that goes with that.

I don't know what the answer is, but we need to do something.

What do others think?

Angela
29-Jan-07, 11:09
How very sad to hear 14 people lost their lives on Scotland's roads this weekend.

It is very sad.

There were a number of suggestions made on the Inexperienced Drivers chain that Cuddlepop started a little while ago.

I thought the best ideas were -

a) to identify new drivers with a special plate & speed restrictions for the first year. You do gain in confidence with experience, but as a new driver I know I often felt pressured into doing silly things by pushy drivers who wouldn't know I was only a beginner and would be breathing down the back of my neck...pressing me to drive faster than I felt comfortable doing at the time.

b) a total ban on alcohol for everyone driving.

I think implementing these ideas would help a bit, and if even one life was saved it would obviously be a very good thing.

Victoria
29-Jan-07, 11:12
Good point about the alcohol - I don't think there should be a limit - I think that if you are driving then even 1 drink is too much.

The Pepsi Challenge
29-Jan-07, 12:25
What about those who are stressed or sleep deprived - how do you monitor that? Plus - and I don't say this in jest - but, compared to the rest of the country, every time I arrive north of Inverness, it's as if drivers suddenly lose the abilty to drive. Do they KNOW how to drive up there? Some of the stuff I witness up there is a lot scarier than anywhere else I've encountered.

Angela
29-Jan-07, 12:45