PDA

View Full Version : Hand-made bread - too heavy

daviddd
20-Jan-07, 23:09
I've been making my own bread for a few months now but am unable to consistently make a nice light loaf. 3 times out of 4 it's too heavy. How can I get it to rise better? I've done the following with no consistent results:

1/ good kneading for 10 minutes until nice and rubbery
2/ enough water (I thought at one point my mix was too dry but I've been through the whole range of wetness through to sticky tonight
3/ Using 3 or 4 teaspoons of newly opened yeast
4/ Using good organic bread flour
5/ letting yeast get going (fizzing) before adding to flour
6/ keeping mix warmish whilst rising (or not!) - I can see when it's risen too fast when there's a false 'crust' on top

Funny thing is the odd time it rises beautifully and I get a nice light loaf.

Help! I do so enjoy doing my own bread...

Uli
21-Jan-07, 11:42
My guess is that you either over knead the dough (too much kneading makes the dough dense) or that you on occasion puts in too much flour which also makes dough dense and heavy.

I would try to knead the dough a bit less nest time to see if that helps before trying to decrease the flour contents, especially seeing that it sometimes does work out fine...

hope that helps

Uli

stratman
21-Jan-07, 19:24
I wonder if you are leaving it to rise in a consistantly warm area, because of your unredictable results.

donnalee1994
21-Jan-07, 20:08
I have the same problem too even bought the ready mixers and still very heavy bread i just cant win :(

Buttercup
21-Jan-07, 22:03
Before I invested in a bread maker, I found my bread was a lot better when I gave it it's first rising overnight in the fridge. Also if you're using brown flour. substitute some of it (1/3 - 1/2) for white, it always made a better tasting and risen loaf.

Mother Bear
21-Jan-07, 22:38