View Full Version : Local election date set

12-Mar-13, 11:12
May day date for landward ward four voting

CANDIDATES wishing to stand at the by-election being held in The Highland Council’s Ward 4 – Landward Caithness – have until 4 pm on Thursday 28 March to complete their nomination.
The by-election is being held on Thursday 2 May to find a successor to Councillor Robert Coghill (Independent) who, following medical advice, stepped down at the end of February.
Nomination papers are now available from Highland Council Offices, Girnigoe Street in Wick or via the home page of The Highland Council’s web site: www.highland.gov.uk/yourcouncil/elections/ (http://www.highland.gov.uk/yourcouncil/elections/)
Polling will take place between 7 am and 10 pm on 2 May unless the election is uncontested. Anyone eligible to vote can apply for either a postal vote or to vote by proxy. The latest time to apply for a postal vote is 5.00pm on Wednesday 17 April. Wednesday 24 April is the deadline for anyone wishing to apply to vote by proxy. Advice on postal and proxy voting is available by contacting the Electoral Registration Office on 0800 393783.
The Returning Officer is Chief Executive of The Highland Council, Alistair Dodds and the count will take place at the Assembly Rooms in Wick on Friday 3 May.
Landward Caithness is one of 22 wards within the Highland area and has a population of 11,290 with the main centres being Halkirk, John O' Groats, Castletown, Dunbeath and Lybster. The electorate is 8,546.
Robert Coghill was elected to The Highland Council in 2007 and was re-elected in May of last year. He was one of four Councillors representing Landward Caithness. The other Ward members are Councillors David Bremner, Willie Mackay and Alex MacLeod.
The Highland Council is made up of 80 elected members. The current representation is Independent 34, SNP 21, Liberal Democrats 14, Labour 8, Independent Nationalist 2 with 1 vacancy for the Landward Caithness ward.