PDA

View Full Version : Could Vaping Be the Way To Go?

M Swanson
17-Feb-13, 14:36
Two weeks ago, my DIL, bought her first e-cigarettes and so far, it's all been very encouraging. She used to smoke 20 to 25 fags a day, but is now down to 8. I know it would be much better to stop completely, but gradually doing it is working. The brand she's bought is called "Socialites," which contain zero tobacco, tar and smoke. It does have nicotine, equivalent to 'light,' ciggies, but when she purchases her next cartridge, she's going for nicotine-free. I know it's early days, but she is much further now than she's managed before, in 15 years of having the habit. Has anyone else tried this method to quit? I can't believe the government haven't put tax on the product. Bet they will, however.

Shabbychic
17-Feb-13, 16:19
I've been vaping now for over 6 months and haven't touched a cigarette. I have saved a fortune and don't miss cigarettes at all, after having smoked for well over 20 years. I believe the EU are trying to ban or reduce the nicotine contents of e-cigs..........mainly because the pharmaceutical companies want all the nicotine products for their own profits, just as they do at present.

M Swanson
17-Feb-13, 17:20
Thanks for the response, Shabbychic, (I love your user ID :o) It's many a long year since I smoked and I was shocked that my DIL paid almost £7 for a pack of 20. That is so dear and you must have saved a bomb. May I ask if you use the nicotine free cartridges, please? We were together when she purchased her starter pack and she chose the equivalent to 'lights.' We were told that it's not actually the nicotine that causes the major health problem, but other chemicals. Do you know if this is correct? I really don't think e-cigs would work for her if she had to go cold turkey, so my advice is to pace herself and experiment until she finds the ones ideally suited for her, but I don't know if that's the way to go. Any tips, please?

cptdodger
17-Feb-13, 17:44