PDA

View Full Version : also moving to Thurso

emb123
21-Dec-06, 13:32
Hi all, - I'm also looking to move to Thurso (technically to just outside Thurso) and my background is in I.T. (I build, repair, install PCs, peripherals etc.).

I wonder if there are any businesses in the Thurso area that would be likely to need these kind of skills or would it be necessary for me either to consider going self-employed as a travelling PC repair man (which is what I do anyway), or even look at doing something else entirely (like stocking shelves in Lidl !).

I would very much like to know how tight is the jobs market in Thurso ?
Ethan

Bobinovich
21-Dec-06, 19:41
Hi Ethan

I'm one of the handful of full-time IT consultants up in Caithness and am based in Thurso. Although my business has been established for almost 13 years I'm sure there is room for another IT person in the area, but almost certainly only for someone who is self-employed.

While there have been times when I could have done with another pair of hands (I've not had a holiday longer than a long weekend for 6 years!) I don't relish the idea of working with PAYE, NI, Tax, etc. or being directly responsible for another human's income. It would also almost certainly put me through the VAT threshold meaning yet another layer of paperwork I'd prefer to avoid.

There may be IT positions available at UKAEA (Dounreay) or with another business in the area or, as you say, you could always go for something completely different :D

If you need any other information then feel free to PM me.

Jeemag_USA
21-Dec-06, 19:50
You might want to put your resume into BT or Manpower as well in Thurso, I used to work there and new a few people who were responsible for working on the pooters, they may need somebody, or they might contact you if a position came up.

emb123
21-Dec-06, 20:50
Hi Ethan