PDA

View Full Version : Star Wars: The Old Republic

RecQuery
02-Jul-12, 14:13
In my time I've given a lot of MMOs a try, from as far back as Ultima Online to the present day and I've never really liked them. I've always slogged through them hoping they would grow on me but they never do.

I started playing Star Wars: The Old Republic last weekend and something strange happened. I actually liked, in many ways it seems like a single player RPG with the best elements of MMOs. Each class has its own unique story line which includes voice acting and CGI there are obviously side quests and group stuff which are common to all but again with different dialogue depending on class.

There's a let's play here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=289zxRKEqRk&feature=BFa&list=PLF918DC4816ACB05F) if anyone else wants to get a feel for it before buying.

midi2304
04-Jul-12, 10:46
I play EVE Online after dabbling with various MMOs. Been playing EVE for 3 years now and I doubt I will ever play another MMO. It's pretty much the perfect game. I adore it. I even do a podcast (www.crossingzebras.com) about devoted just to it with another lad from Thurso...

RecQuery
04-Jul-12, 10:56
I play EVE Online after dabbling with various MMOs. Been playing EVE for 3 years now and I doubt I will ever play another MMO. It's pretty much the perfect game. I adore it. I even do a podcast (www.crossingzebras.com (http://www.crossingzebras.com)) about devoted just to it with another lad from Thurso...

I have tried Eve Online, played an Amarr (Ammarian bloodline) but I could just never get into it. Space-based combat and trading MMOs are rather lacking which is a shame, they all seem to focus on individual characters running around worlds and locations though Star Wars The Old Republic does have space-based combat missions where you fly a ship it's nothing complicated and is really just an add-on mechanic.

midi2304
04-Jul-12, 13:09