PDA

View Full Version : Getting an M.O.T. and repairs

Rheghead
22-Nov-06, 13:56
Is it advisable to get an MOT and tell the garage to fix anything so it will pass? It seems a conflict of interest for the owner? I wonder if I said from the outset that I will take it to another garage for repairs that less will be needed to get a pass? What is the best thing to say to the garage people?:confused

footie chick
22-Nov-06, 14:07
I used to work in a garage and people generally said just do what it fails on but we still used to phone them with a price for the work. I personally always ask them for a price for fixing if its not too dear I usually go ahead.

Worth bearing in mind if your car fails its MOT and you take it to another garage they charge you for a retest if it stays in for repairs you generally get a free re-test.

Cattach
22-Nov-06, 14:17
I used to work in a garage and people generally said just do what it fails on but we still used to phone them with a price for the work. I personally always ask them for a price for fixing if its not too dear I usually go ahead.

Worth bearing in mind if your car fails its MOT and you take it to another garage they charge you for a retest if it stays in for repairs you generally get a free re-test.

I use a single man business who checks the car for me, tells me waht is required and then gets the MOT done at a garage he has an arrangement with. He only charges for work done and for the MOT and not for the pre-check. See,s a perfect way to work as he gets any work in future that I require and I get a free pre-check for the MOT.

percy toboggan
22-Nov-06, 20:29
Never give a garage a blank cheque. Always ask them to consult.
I don't know what car you drive or how old it is but there comes a time when it's not worth spending too much money on 'em.

l/m

The_man_from_del_monte
22-Nov-06, 21:19