PDA

View Full Version : Fruit & Vegetables

stevep
09-Nov-06, 15:48
We are planning to move to Caithness in the near future and have a plot of land on the coast. We are hoping to be as self sufficient as possible for fruit and vegetables and are looking to install a polytunnel.

Any advice on what grows well and what doesn't or any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Stephen

andrew1
09-Nov-06, 18:18
having grown up and lived in caithness most of my life the most important thing is get protection from the wind.If the land is just grass and you want to get started quick a good way to start is to use cardboard to put on the ground stick some earth or stones on it to way it down.Then cut holes in it and plant your veg ,the cardbord will rot naturally and it will keep down your weeds. I am a gardener by trade so if want any advice i am glad to help:)

stevep
09-Nov-06, 23:02
Roy

Where are you moving to? As you state it sounds like we are in the exact same position as we to are in the process of buying a croft. We're are so excited. We are reading all the books imaginable but there is nothing like local knowledge.

davem
10-Nov-06, 00:13
Probably best to build a windbreak to the north,and one to the east and west and definitely south too!

andrew1
10-Nov-06, 16:07
roy i am not sure where you are moving to or what height you are looking for here is some shrubs and trees to start with .The most important thing is give them a good start i would dig atrench and fill the bottom with manure and double plant i am sure you know what i mean.The plants i would recomend are everygreen yew,holly,portugese laurel, beech, hawthorn and rosa rugosa hope this helps

Bill Fernie
14-Nov-06, 02:41
I planted quite few trees around our garden on the outskits of Wick about 20 - 25 years ago. I quickly found they would take a very long time and only now would I say we have some sort of a wind break.