PDA

View Full Version : Aurora Watch Red Alert

Gronnuck
09-Mar-12, 13:17
Camera, check ..... tripod, check ..... Lafuma folding chair, check. Now all I need is good advice from all you nice photographic experts who've done all this before. All tips, hints and advice will be greatly appreciated - and - I might even be able to publish the results on this forum (fingers crossed).

Gronnuck
10-Mar-12, 13:07
Humph - obviously all the photos expert types were too busy looking up at the sky :(:confused

Timber-TEC
11-Mar-12, 18:18
Hi
I am not an expert, but for aurora set up your ISO to 800 or 1600, exposure time somwhere between 15 and 30 seconds, if you use kit lens then set it up wide open.

Tugmistress
11-Mar-12, 19:40
and i try it slightly different, iso down at about 400, f number as low as it will go, and exposure time depends on brightness of moon, really bright about 10 seconds, no moon about 1 minute.
experiment gronnuck and you will find what works for you personally :)

Gronnuck
11-Mar-12, 20:36
Whoooo-hoooo now you've got me all a-fluster. I'll tell you what - as soon as the sky clears I'm going to sit out in the dark and play with the camera. I'll tell everyone Timber-TEC and Tugmistree told me to ;-)

Tugmistress
11-Mar-12, 21:09
hehe go for it :) playing is a great way to learn ;)

Timber-TEC
12-Mar-12, 10:48
Practice will make you a master of aurora :).
But if you want to have a stars as a points (not trailed) than do not go above 30second exposure.

Mystical Potato Head
12-Mar-12, 19:08
Dont go below ISO 800 otherwise you end up with too long exposures and the beams or rays of light all blend into
one another and you lose the effect of the aurora.The shortest exposure i've taken is 15 seconds at ISO 1600,that was a bright display with a full moon.
If i used ISO 800 then i would have needed a 30 second exposure but the rays of light wouldnt be so sharp,at ISO 400 it would have been a minute
and the rays of light would be merging into one another.