PDA

View Full Version : Moving to Caithness, looking for info on jobs

Bakeybadoo
04-Mar-12, 09:48
I'm a newbie so be gentle! ;)

My family (5 of my own) and 5 other members are moving to Caithness in June. I will be working and that's sorted but looking at options for my OH and would appreciate input from those with knowledge.

His occupation here is security guard/crime scene officer for the local police. I understand due to the location that this isn't an area with great demand but are there opportunities in that category and are there any local security companies that I could contact and send his cv? Are there any big stores who already use security guards and if so, provided by which company or is it in-house?

Scouring the job centre website and Yell.com isn't cutting it, I'm getting nowhere fast! :lol:

Tugmistress
04-Mar-12, 10:01
The only actual security company i know of up here is the one that are basically glorified ticket collectors for the ferry at scrabster. that is MPS and their head office is in Aberdeen. i don't know of any other places that have security guards as such but then again i am a bit of a hermit and don't go anywhere much so i could be wrong lol. hope you get some other ideas off other orgers.
btw welcome to the madness :)

Muppet1
04-Mar-12, 10:27
Theres advanced security (tesco) and g4s (job centre and a few other places). As for " glorified ticket collectors",they probably are but I wouldn't be insulting people if I ran a business in a small place like this.

annemarie482
04-Mar-12, 10:30
Tesco and homebase have security supplied by the same company, maybe someone here will know what they're called.
Subsea 7 at wester also have their own 24/7 security on their site.
Dounreay police also provide security at Dounreay which may be his best option consider his experience, although they are armed I believe they obviously get full training.
Hope that helps!

Welcome to our lovely org! x

colingel
04-Mar-12, 10:34