PDA

View Full Version : Tourists! tut

billmoseley
17-Aug-11, 19:15
Being a bus driver i have seen most things in my travels but today took the biscuit. whilst traveling over tongue causeway heading back towards tongue the traffic seemed to be held up after coming thought the traffic lights. i got closer only to see a couple in their 60s had set up a tripod and camera in the road to take a picture of the Kyle. when i got up to them i asked in my best polite manner if they realized it was a main road. they replied well the roads not that busy and just carried on. i then did tell then in not such a polite manner to move the camera. i'm sure tourist leave their brains at home sometimes

orkneycadian
17-Aug-11, 19:18
Could be worse, you could be trying to get around Orkney when theres a cruise liner in - Buses stopped all over the place so tourists can go take pictures and the likes.... Trying to get across Kirkwall last week when the Crown Princess was in was near impossible - Place was littered with buses parked in places they shouldn't be! :)

Commore
17-Aug-11, 19:26
Could be worse, you could be trying to get around Orkney when theres a cruise liner in - Buses stopped all over the place so tourists can go take pictures and the likes.... Trying to get across Kirkwall last week when the Crown Princess was in was near impossible - Place was littered with buses parked in places they shouldn't be! :)

:) think of all those pennies being spent on your island adding to its economy and touristy viability.

Mrs Bucket
17-Aug-11, 19:45
I believe that cruise liner tourists spend very little as everything is pre paid

Corrie 3
17-Aug-11, 19:52
I believe that cruise liner tourists spend very little as everything is pre paid
Yes, its the same with Motorhome tourists and grouse shooters, non of them spend much when up here. Even the Motorhome owners are too tight to stay at campsites and prefer to stay overnight in lay byes. Roll on winter !!!!

C3......:roll:

Commore