PDA

View Full Version : Is Bullying Something That Should Be Accepted ?

vintagepower3
25-Jun-11, 17:09
Ive recenty come to know someone who i am beginning to become close friends with from the thurso area. But yet they are the most opinionated, hypocritical, judgemental, narrow minded, negative, miserable person ive ever stumbled across. But through all that there is something about them, they may be all those things but she is actually a very nice person. Ive asked her in the nicest possible way why she is like that and she simply says its down to the way she has been treated by people. People are always laughing at her because of the way she dresses, the music she likes, the lack of friends she has. Now i know her pretty well by now and i know she isnt the type of person who would start an argument with someone. She doesnt seem to have given the people who verbally bully her any reason to do so. Im just beginning to wonder if bullying people based on the way they look & live their own lives is considered acceptable. I know some people may seem different on the outside but all they really want is to be accepted like everybody else regardless of their religious beliefs, disabilitys, fashion sense, taste in music or what they look like. I think if people like my friend were given half the chance then it would come as a surprise to people how nice they can be. But if this is how people are been treated for the simplest of things then its no wonder they choose to be so negative.

NickInTheNorth
25-Jun-11, 17:18
It is totally unacceptable.

However there is a lot of it happening within society for all sorts of reasons. If your friend can cope with all the negativity I applaud her. To my mind there are the sheep, the small minded, narrow minded bigots who expect everyone to conform to their idea of normal, or acceptable.