PDA

View Full Version : weeping willow

annemarie482
10-Jun-11, 23:10
a couple quick questions.....

is there anywhere local i can purchase a weeping willow tree?

homebase have their version which has been cut waxed, and the top attatched to the side so it wont grow any bigger and suit a pot or patio, but i'd like a a proper tree thats going to get some height and the lovely cascading foliage.

does anyone on here have one they have successfully grown?

do they grow well up here?

any help appreciated, i'm a keen but novice gardener :)

Fran
11-Jun-11, 00:07
I have been looking for one too. Been everywhere up here. Will have to go to Inverness, a big nursery there, or order from gardening catalogue, i think it is called dobies, which has been highly recommended to me.

Stefan
11-Jun-11, 10:53
Any willow should be growing fine up here. They like lots of water.... I am growing several species, the only problem you will have is the wind. They grow slower unless you stake them well. I bought all my willow through mail order, most of it from Germany...

starfish
11-Jun-11, 11:11
paul at quinfall forest has tray of 28 twisted willow and super willow for i think £15.00 per tray 07742102164

porshiepoo
12-Jun-11, 00:22
I have a weeping Willow I bought 4 years ago. Not sure of the type but it should certainly grow big - it's about 5 years old now and about 6ft tall and well weepy. They're as easy to grow from cuttings as normal willow and I got mine from EBay.
I live in quite an exposed area near the sea and this tree has survived bitter winds and severe winters.

Violetsky
15-Jun-11, 08:59
saw a weeping willow for sale at the garden centre at glengolly at the weekend - it looked lovely

annemarie482
15-Jun-11, 09:43
really?! didnt know glengolly had a garden centre!

Violetsky
17-Jun-11, 08:50
really - http://www.caithness-business.co.uk/business.php?id=618

annemarie482
17-Jun-11, 09:31
delighted! must go up a lookie :)