PDA

View Full Version : e.p.i.in dogs

fuzzypeg
20-Dec-10, 10:36
my shepard dog has just been diagnosed with e.p.i.and i was wondering if there were any other owners in the area that have dogs with this disorder

carasmam
20-Dec-10, 11:27
If you are on facebook the german shepherd rescue Scotland page had links to interesting articles on epi. It may be on their website site too Ive not looked. I know of one dog who has it and the meds were roughly £60 per month.

aurora32
20-Dec-10, 11:31
These pages are very interesting and the pig pancreas is meant to be very effective if it works for your dog.

http://www.ellsbury.com/cheetah.htm

missemma2
20-Dec-10, 15:04
Hi,

I've not had a dog with it myself but have seen many GSD's with the condition in practice (i'm a vet nurse - not at the practice here).

Usually involves adding the enzymes they can no longer produce themselves (due to a faulty pancreus) to their food each time they have a meal. This allows them to digest their food properly and prevents the horrid diahorreah and upset tummy they get.

They tend to do really well providing they are kept on the supplement.

Emma

fuzzypeg
20-Dec-10, 16:10
thanks for all your advise the last link was very helpful. she is currently on an enzyme suppliment and responding well , i just have to get her weight back up as she lost 10 kgs in just 2 months,but that will take time to achieve.i was just wondering as seeing as i bought her from this area and its a genetic condition, if any of her siblings are maybe still in the area also, and if they are suffering this defect.

aurora32
20-Dec-10, 23:07
This maybe of some use to you Fuzzypeg and i hope you get her weight back up soon, must be very worrying for you. :)
EPI hereditary or not? (http://sl-si.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=38663535025&topic=12550)
Laura