PDA

View Full Version : got a real fright this morning!!!

brandy
16-Dec-10, 13:42
scared me enough to actually put in a complaint!
went to take Ben to school this morning at about 9:30 and was nearlly hit by a gritter!
was turning onto royal place and had just made the turn when a gritter came baralling towards me.. the boy looked me right in the eye andhe never attempted to slow down!
now i was nearly onto royal place at this point and still in the curve and had to slam on my breaks on ice and the car did the.. chu chu chu.. and shudder and slide that happens when you slam on breaks on ice . he still didnt slow down and kept on going and came close enough that it sprayed grit up to my windshield!
nomally, i dont get shook up as im a pretty confident driver.. but i just wouldnt win in a showdown with a gritter! I was thankfully going really really slow.. not even 5mph so was really lucky!
the thing is this isnt the first time!
last week on the last day of the big snow before it melted.. the kid spot and i was playing outside our house. a council van came up our street at some speed.. with heavy snow on the ground.. at the bottom of the street he slid side ways before he corrected then kept coming without slowing down... even though you could see there was young kids and a dog out playing... he went around a sharp corner at the top and slid sideways again.. before spinning out onto the main street again.
what is wrong with the guys?
both were young men! i dont know if that has anything to do with a lack of sence but really!
a little common sence can go a long way!

Chrisf1961
16-Dec-10, 13:51
Weve had the same round here with the gritters driving round the roads like demented numptys.......i somehow think they think that cos the are in a larger vehicle that they woint come to any harm and can bully people off the roads....cretins........

orkneycadian
16-Dec-10, 13:52
Were you nearly hit by a gritter, or was the gritter nearly hit by a car?