PDA

View Full Version : Passing a test in Caithness

porshiepoo
13-Nov-10, 17:08
I've wondered for a while now, if a person pases their driving test in Caithness how do they cope when they take a long journey out to say Inverness and come across major roads and loads of vehicles?

My daughters will soon be taking driving tests and I must admit I've always been a tad worried that passing a test up here may not give them the experience they need to cope with biger cities and roundabouts.
Passing a test may give them the confidence to assume they can cope but will they really?

lindsaymcc
13-Nov-10, 17:12
I cant really answer your question, but I think it works both ways! I learnt to drive in a large town (that I was familiar with) with lots of traffic and main roads and roundabouts, and yet, I hate the country roads here! Im a real dual carriageway/motorway driver! On the other hand, my husband loves country roads and the lack of traffic here.

My mum learnt to drive in Thurso in the days before traffic lights were in the town, and although she spent most of her adult life in a larger town, she wasnt what I would call a confident driver - she loved coming "home" to drive the roads she knew!

Dadie
13-Nov-10, 17:19
I hate driving in a big place...not because of all the cars..traffic lanes...roundabouts (inc double roundabouts)thats all ok... but because I lack even basic direction sense!
I need to have my hubby or another person sitting next to me telling me where to go....I dont trust the sat nav too much!:lol:

EDDIE
13-Nov-10, 17:20
Even if your daughter did learn and pass a test in a city if she is not driving in that environment all the time her experience in that environment will get rusty

billmoseley
13-Nov-10, 17:29