PDA

View Full Version : Budge/Forbes

alexsm
26-Oct-10, 14:44
I have been researching my Budge/Forbes family for many years and have reached a brick wall. Their names are Alexander Budge (Born c1800 died before 1851) and his wife Isabella Forbes (1800-1882). They married on 24 July 1824; he lived at Achengoul and she at Achkinloch.
Their family was James (1825-1904) Robert D (1828-1903)
Isabella (1831-) Donald 1833 prob died young) Alexander (b1834 prob died young; Alexandrina(1836-1914) Joseph (baker in Lybster 1838-)
Helen Mary (1841-1922) and Ann (1844- alive at 1871 census).
Isabella's parents were James Forbes, Achkinloch and Margaret Sutherland Rangag. I have been unable to find a birth for Alexander.
I have seen a reference to a pedigree chart posted to IGS by Jeff Budge of Boston He is the son of Donald Budge, the famous tennis player. I mentions a family of Budges in Achnagoul, Laid and Knockinnan. I have not seen this document.
Their son James was my great grandfather. He was a fisherman in Lybster . His first wife was Ann Bain (1834-1874) and his second Elizabeth Macdonald (d c1922) His family were all born in Lybster. Isabella Maggie (1866-1900 She was a missionary in Calabar West Africa. Williamina Bain (B1867 d- believe emigrated to Canada);
Alexander (b1969; fought in Boer War ; last ref in Pollock St Glasgow 1904); Donald Bain (1870-1953) He was captain of the Hesperus, the lighthouse steamer , operated from Oban) and Helan (1872-1926)
Last named was my maternal grandmother and she was married to James A Sutherland, shoemaker, Latheronwheel. They has a family of twelve.
Sorry this is so long winded. I would appreciate any contacts with ref to this family.

achastle
27-Oct-10, 21:34