PDA

View Full Version : Caithness Teen Road Safety Campaign

Claireabelle
06-Mar-10, 16:34
Hi, well as this is my first post I guess I should introduce myself, my name is Claire and I am from Thurso :D

Apologies in advance if this turns out to be a reeeaaaally long post.

Okay, well… I am a student at the moment and during my final year my Uni has agreed to leave me to my own devices and allow me to come back to Caithness and be around all of you lovely people.

Basically with Caithness being such a close community we have all known someone, through family or friendship ties who has needlessly died on the road, and I wanted to do my bit to try (who knows if it will make the slightest difference) to prevent this. I’m not saying that it is all down to young people but as it is easier to help young people install good habits than change the bad habits of adults I have decided to aim this towards 12 – 18 year olds – so if you have a son, daughter, brother, sister, cousin or friend who falls in to that category please keep reading.

From my memory when I was in High School, the people I listened to most, and whose opinions mattered to me where my mates. In fact at 26 little has changed.

I found school talks boring. – Others I am certain found them very useful. But for people like me who would be inclined to space out the window or try to work out how I would forge my mums signature on my late slip - rather than listen to the road safety officer at the front of the hall.