PDA

View Full Version : What PA are people Gigging with?

BigKev
01-Mar-10, 20:23
Leading on from the other thread in this section of the site i became curious about what other bands were using when playing in the pubs and halls in caithness?

What kind of setup do you use?
Is is adequate/ loud enough for the venues you typically play?
How easy is it to transport? (most people dont have access to a van!)
What route would you reccommend taking if you were starting out?

moncur
01-Mar-10, 20:50
Our PA is basically Thomann's own brand active speakers for both monitors and Front of House. We've also started using a Yamaha MG mixer. Its probably too loud for what we need but nevermind. We've used it without much problems in Y-Not before.

When we were just an acoustic set it was fairly easy to transport the PA & guitars in the back of ma fiesta, but now we have a fourth member and have some electric guitar involved I'm going to have to hitch the trailer back on now!

I'm still learning so I cant give much advice. But I would advise guitarists not to use the biggest and loudest amps ever made as theres really no need for them when playing small venues and they're just a pain to lug around.

fred
02-Mar-10, 08:23
Leading on from the other thread in this section of the site i became curious about what other bands were using when playing in the pubs and halls in caithness?

When I first started playing with a band back in nineteen rumpty tump I played some pretty big halls with a 30w amp.

The thing to remember is that doubling the power doesn't double the loudness, a 60w amp isn't twice as loud as a 30w amp, you need a 300w amp to be twice as loud as a 30w amp and a 3,000w amp to be twice as loud as that.

Chobbersjnr
03-Mar-10, 22:51

just put my rig together for my solo act "Direct Injection"

quite compact & could fit into the back seat of a car