PDA

View Full Version : Democracy

sandyr1
26-Feb-10, 22:29
I was following and commenting on Canada's fame and shame (The Seal Hunt) and thought.......

We as Canadians...Yes Scottish, but am also a Canuck and live by the rule of law, which is controlled by a 'Democratic Government' which is ...the people's vote.....and the Provincial Gov't and the Federal Gov't have decreed the Seal Hunt should contine...for now anyway....

So, who are these people that want to say that our laws are Disgusting, Barbaric et cetera....without knowing very much about it...I mentioned earlier that Television lives by the Creed..'if it Bleeds it Leads'. I have some experience with them so I shall only talk of that which I know!

Perhaps some discussion...on this issue...Whether I agree with it or not, I have no comment, but should we not attempt to respect the Laws of other Countries and perhaps think a wee bitty before going 'Off The HEED'!

Over tae yee.....

gleeber
26-Feb-10, 22:42
Aye. I agree. Mind you its a moral thing and each individual will make his own mind up by his conscience.
All countries have their barberisms. Much of it behind closed doors but every now and again an abused child dies and the truth comes out again.
People can be cruel even in democracies.
They used to do the same thing to seal pups in the Orkneys up until not that long ago and a few years Back John Thurso the local MP had to be very careful how he handled a bunch of seals roosting on the islands of Thurso river with a steady supply of Salmon swimming past their front door.
I wonder what happened to them? :eek:

fred
26-Feb-10, 22:57
Aye. I agree. Mind you its a moral thing and each individual will make his own mind up by his conscience.
All countries have their barberisms. Much of it behind closed doors but every now and again an abused child dies and the truth comes out again.
People can be cruel even in democracies.